People

Natural Products and Pharmacognosy

Our natural products research groups are engaged in the development of new treatments for disease based on compounds from nature. We seek to identify natural product lead compounds for drug development, as well as to understand the mechanism of action of traditional botanical medicines. We employ cutting edge technology to achieve this goal, and have unique expertise in the application of mass spectrometry to study synergistic interactions in complex natural product mixtures, and the use of surface techniques for in-situ analysis of intact biological organisms. Students in our program have the opportunity to gain hands-on training in our exceptional mass spectrometry and NMR facilities. Research in this area is supported by our Medicinal Chemistry Collaborative, which leverages connections with natural product researchers across the UNCG campus and outside the University.

Faculty

Nadja Cech

Professor
Analytical Chemistry
Contact:
nadja_cech@uncg.edu
408 PAS Science Bldg.
336.334.3017
Research Website

Mitchell Croatt

Associate Professor and Department Head
Organic Chemistry
Contact:
mpcroatt@uncg.edu
435C PAS Science Bldg.
336.334.3785
Research Website

Nicholas Oberlies

Professor
Medicinal Chemistry & Pharmacognosy
Contact:
nicholas_oberlies@uncg.edu
405A PAS Science Bldg.
336.334.5474
Research Website

Kimberly Petersen

Associate Professor
Organic Chemistry, Asymmetric Methodology Development
Contact:
kspeters@uncg.edu
411 PAS Science Bldg.
336.334.4271
Research Website

Jason Reddick

Graduate Director (MS), Associate Professor
Biochemistry & Bioorganic Chemistry
Contact:
jjreddic@uncg.edu
412 PAS Science Bldg.
336.334.3941
Research Website

Patricia Reggio

Marie Foscue Rourk Professor
Computational Chemistry/Phy. Chemistry
Contact:
phreggio@uncg.edu
406 PAS Science Bldg.
336.334.5333
Research Website

E. Will Taylor

Professor
Biomedical Sciences
Contact:
ewtaylor@uncg.edu
403A PAS Science Bldg., JSNN 106M
336.285.2890
Research Website

Qibin Zhang

Associate Professor & Co-Director, Center for Translational Biomedical Research
Analytical Chemistry
Contact:
q_zhang2@uncg.edu
418 PAS Science Bldg.
704.250.5803
Research Website
Connect with us!